Solutions · Retail

HR Software for Retail Teams and Stores

The office side of a store estate: one employee record per person across every branch, the approved hours behind the payroll file, and the seasonal intake's paperwork generated from templates.

Free for up to 3 peopleNo credit cardKeep your scheduler and payroll provider
The team list in Growee: each employee with position, email and status, above filters for position, tags, status, start date, department and team.

Where Growee fits, and where it does not

Growee is general HR software, not a retail workforce-management system. No rota builder, no shift swaps, no POS integration, and no payroll. Namely and Factorial cover parts of that (as of 19 August 2026); a dedicated scheduler beats all three on rota depth, and under a fair-workweek rule like Seattle's Secure Scheduling Ordinance the advance notice comes from it. Growee holds the record behind those tools: employee files by store, approved hours, leave balances, and documents with expiration dates.

Three things this actually replaces

Usually one spreadsheet per store, a folder of scanned contracts, and a group chat nobody can search.

One record per person, whichever store they work in

Model each branch as a department. An area manager pulls four stores' headcount from one list instead of emailing four people, and a transfer is a field change on one record, not a new folder.

  • Filters for department, position, tags, status and start date
  • An org chart of the whole estate
  • Tag the seasonal intake once, and the January offboarding round starts as a filter on that tag

See employee management →

Time tracking and leave, plus a monthly presence sheet

Staff clock in and out with one click or fill the week in afterwards; a manager approves the week. Leave requests carry balances by year and type, with weekends and public holidays taken out of the day count. Holidays for 99 countries come from the dataset behind our national holidays pages: check United States, England or Canada for 2026.

  • Timers or manual entries on the same weekly timesheet, with approvals
  • Request, approve, reject or cancel, with every state in one list
  • A monthly presence sheet with working hours and absences per person, for your payroll provider

See time tracking →

The seasonal intake's paperwork is generated, not retyped

Retail re-onboards a big slice of the team every year: the BLS quits rate for retail trade ran 3.0% in June 2026, against 2.2% for total private. An employee template is written once, with variables filled from the employee record, and can generate its document the moment a new hire is added. Each document carries a type you define, tags and an expiration date, so a lapsed food-handling certificate surfaces before the shift.

  • Templates auto-filled from employee data, auto-generated on hire
  • Expiration alerts by email before the date passes
  • E-signature by link, no account for the signer, and the signed file stays on the record

E-signature is on the paid plan; documents and expiration alerts are not. See document management →

Growee vs Namely vs Factorial

Both incumbents publish a retail page and both do things Growee does not: Namely leads with payroll and mobile shift scheduling, Factorial sells shift management as a paid module. Every cell states only what those vendors publish on their own pages, as of 19 August 2026.

Employee records across multiple stores
Growee
Departments, org chart
Namely
"Scale HR across stores and states"
Factorial
Employee directory in Core
Shift scheduling and rota building
Growee
No rota builder
Namely
"Mobile-ready" shift scheduling
Factorial
Shift Management, paid module
Payroll
Growee
Export hours, pay elsewhere
Namely
In Namely Now
Factorial
"All the info you need to calculate payroll", per its retail page
Time tracking and clock in/out
Growee
Timers + weekly timesheet
Namely
"Track hourly employees"
Factorial
Time Tracking, paid module
Leave requests, approvals and balances
Growee
In the free plan
Namely
Not stated
Factorial
Absence calendar
Documents and e-signature
Growee
E-signature on the paid plan
Namely
"Digital checklists and e-signatures"
Factorial
E-signature in Core
Pricing model
Growee
Per person, per month
Namely
Per employee per month, four packages
Factorial
Per user for Core, modules priced separately
Entry price published on the vendor site
Growee
Free ≤ 3 people · €2/person/mo
Namely
$9 per employee per month (Namely Now); other packages quote-based
Factorial
$8 per user per month (Core); modules quote-based

Namely cells from namely.com/hr-software-retail and namely.com/lp/pricing/, read 19 August 2026. That pricing page states "STARTING AT $9 PER EMPLOYEE PER MONTH" for Namely Now, its entry package covering payroll, HR and onboarding; pricing for Namely Plus, Namely Plus People and Namely Complete is not published — it is quote-based. The same page describes contract terms as "month to month or up to 3 years", and does not disclose a billing cycle for the $9 figure. Factorial cells from factorialhr.com/retail-hr-solutions and factorialhr.com/pricing, read 19 August 2026: "Factorial starts at $8 per month, per user" covers Factorial Core (employee directory, onboarding and offboarding, payslip distribution, document sending, e-signature, custom notifications, fillable PDFs); Time Management — which contains Shift Management and Time Tracking — and the Talent, Finance and IT modules are paid add-ons whose prices are not published. Neither vendor's retail page states a minimum employee count or a retail-specific price. "Not stated" means those pages say nothing either way. Growee figures reflect our live plans: free for up to 3 people, then €2 per person per month, with e-signature on the paid plan.

Retail HR software: common questions

What is the best HR software for retail?

If the rota is the problem, a dedicated workforce-management tool beats every general HR platform, Growee included. If you want payroll in the same product, Namely's entry package includes it at $9 per employee per month, and Factorial sells shift management and time tracking as paid modules on top of its $8-per-user Core (as of 19 August 2026). Growee is the pick when the record is the problem: one file per person across every store, with hours, leave and signed paperwork on it, at €2 per person per month.

Can Growee build store schedules or handle shift swaps?

No. Growee has no rota builder, no shift-swap or open-shift marketplace, and no POS integration. Teams run it alongside a scheduler: the scheduler decides who works when, Growee keeps the record of what was worked, who was off and what was signed.

What does Growee cost for a 25-person store team?

€50 a month, at €2 per person per month, or €20 per person per year. That covers employee records, time tracking, leave, documents and e-signature. Teams of 3 people or fewer are free.

One record across every store

Put the estate's people, hours, leave and paperwork on one record. Free for up to 3 people.

No credit card required · Free for up to 3 people · Keep your scheduler and payroll provider