Harvest alternative that adds HR to time tracking and invoicing
Growee is a Harvest alternative for agencies that want the employee record, not only the timer. It tracks time per project, stores a billable rate and an internal cost rate on each timesheet row, reports project profitability, and invoices clients. It also holds employees, leave requests and balances, documents with expiry dates, and performance reviews, which a time-tracking tool does not.
Free for up to 3 employees. Every Harvest figure and capability on this page is quoted from getharvest.com and dated 19 September 2026.
Growee and Harvest, 21 rows
The HR rows come first, because that is the gap. Every Harvest cell carries the page it came from and the date it was read. Where a page did not show a capability the cell says so, which is a statement about the documentation we could read and not a claim that Harvest ships nothing. Rows Growee loses are rows here, not footnotes.
| Capability | Growee | Harvest |
|---|---|---|
| The HR half, where the gap is | ||
| Employee records and custom fields | Yes. One employee record with positions, departments, levels, work locations, contract types, benefits and custom fields you define. | Not stated. No employee-record or HRIS wording appears on the pages checked. Harvest describes itself as "Everything your team needs to keep track of hours and projects", and its unit is a seat that tracks time.Source: getharvest.com/pricing and /features, 19 September 2026 |
| Documents with expiry dates and templates | Yes, on the free plan. Document types you define, filed on the person with an expiration date, plus templates that fill from employee data. | Not stated. No document-management feature appears on the pages checked; the only "document" wording is the Developer Documentation link in the site navigation.Source: getharvest.com/pricing and /features, 19 September 2026 |
| Leave requests, policies and balances | Yes, on the free plan. Requests with approve, reject and cancel, policies per leave type, balances by year and type, calendar events, and CSV or XLSX export. | Not stated. No leave, time-off, PTO or vacation wording appears anywhere on the pages checked.Source: getharvest.com/pricing and /features, 19 September 2026 |
| Public-holiday calendars | One calendar per workspace. Legal holidays are scoped to the workspace with no country field, so a team spread across countries gets a single public-holiday calendar, never one per employee country. | Not stated. No holiday-calendar wording appears on the pages checked.Source: getharvest.com/pricing and /features, 19 September 2026 |
| Performance reviews | Yes, on the free plan, and the review types are yours to define. Growee ships no preset evaluation types. | Not stated. No performance-review wording appears on the pages checked.Source: getharvest.com/pricing and /features, 19 September 2026 |
| Benefits | Records, not administration. A benefits catalogue and a link to the employee. No carriers, no eligibility rules, no enrolment. | Not stated. No benefits wording appears on the pages checked.Source: getharvest.com/pricing and /features, 19 September 2026 |
| Payroll | None. Payroll in Growee is a module flag and a permission name, never a calculation and never a payslip. If payroll is the thing you are buying, neither product is the answer. | Not stated as a Harvest feature. The closest entry in its integrations directory is Deel: "Transfer timesheets from Harvest to Deel with ease."Source: getharvest.com/integrations, 19 September 2026 |
| Time, rates and client billing, where the two overlap | ||
| Time tracking | Yes, on the free plan. Start and stop timers, entries in worked minutes, weekly submission. No rota and no shift scheduling. | Yes, on every plan including Free, and this is its core: "One-click timers, weekly/daily timesheets, calendar imports", with "Use live timers or add entries directly to your day or week view" and "Custom reminders for consistent time tracking".Source: getharvest.com/pricing and /features, 19 September 2026 |
| Timesheet approval | Yes, on the free plan. A week is submitted and approved, with a weekly approval report behind it. | On Enterprise. The grid’s "Timesheet approval" row, "Review and approve hours before they’re billed", is checked in the Enterprise column only, and the trial FAQ says approvals are among the premium features you can try during the 30 days.Source: getharvest.com/pricing, 19 September 2026 |
| Billable rate and internal cost rate | Both, on the timesheet row itself. Each row carries a billed hourly rate and an internal cost hourly rate, and each project member carries a billed rate, a cost type and a per-project internal cost. | From the Teams plan. The grid’s "Billable and cost rates for teams" row, "Set what each person bills and what they cost", is checked for Teams and Enterprise and blank for Free, and the features page adds "Keep track of internal costs and review past project data to inform future project scope and estimates".Source: getharvest.com/pricing and /features, 19 September 2026 |
| Project profitability and billing models | On the paid plan, with six billing models: retainer, fixed price, time and materials, PPC passthrough, revenue share and internal. The revenue basis follows the model. Who sees it matters: the margin, the billed rates, the budget and the billing model need the payroll or salary permission, which no default role except the admin holds, so in a new workspace this is admin only until an admin grants it. | On Enterprise. The grid’s "Profitability reporting" row, "Track margins by client, project, task, or team", is checked in the Enterprise column only. No billing-model list is published on the pages checked; what is named is the grid’s "Supports both Time & Materials and Fixed Fee projects" row, "Bill hourly or at a flat rate per project", on all three plans.Source: getharvest.com/pricing, 19 September 2026 |
| Client invoicing, payments and reminders | On the paid plan. Invoices with lines, recorded payments, history and a tax field, late marking, and payment reminder emails configured per workspace. | Invoicing on every plan including Free: the grid’s "Invoicing" row, "Generate, send, and track polished invoices", is checked in all three columns. Online payment collection is described on the features page, "PayPal and Stripe integrations let your clients quickly and conveniently pay invoices online", with no plan named there; the only payment row in the plan grid, "Accounting and payment integrations", is checked for Teams and Enterprise and blank for Free. No invoice payment reminder appears on the pages checked; the reminders Harvest names are time-tracking reminders.Source: getharvest.com/pricing and /features, 19 September 2026 |
| Invoice from tracked time | Time and money sit on one project record: a timesheet row carries its own billed hourly rate, and the project carries the invoices. Growee documents no one-step conversion from a tracked week into an invoice, so treat that step as manual. | Yes, and it is the headline of the invoicing section of its features page, on every plan including Free: "Turn your team’s tracked time and expenses into invoices and collect payment quickly with integrated online payments", and "Easily create and send accurate invoices using your team’s time and expenses already tracked in Harvest".Source: getharvest.com/features, 19 September 2026 |
| Expense capture | On the paid plan. Expenses with a category, bundles and an approval status, plus AI receipt scanning. Every role, the plain employee included, can file its own. | Yes, on every plan including Free: the grid’s "Expense tracking" row, "Log receipts and reimbursable costs alongside time."Source: getharvest.com/pricing, 19 September 2026 |
| Price, platform and access | ||
| Price basis and free tier | Free for up to 3 employees. Above that the base plan is charged per employee, with no seat minimum and no platform fee. The current figure is on the pricing page. | Free plan at "$0 forever", capped at "1 seat" and "2 projects". Teams from $11 per seat per month, or $9 per seat per month billed annually at $108 per seat per year. Enterprise from $17.50 per seat per month, or $14 billed annually at $168 per seat per year. Enterprise Plus is "Custom pricing". "All prices in USD", annual is "20% off", and every paid plan opens with a 30-day trial and no credit card.Source: getharvest.com/pricing, 19 September 2026 |
| Per seat or per employee | Per employee. The unit is the employee record, so the bill follows headcount and nothing else moves it. | Per seat, with usage on top. Teams and Enterprise carry "Unlimited seats" priced per seat, and Harvest’s own note reads "Your base rate includes core features. As your team grows, additional invoices, projects, clients, and tasks are billed based on what you use, so you’re never overpaying." Seats can be added mid-cycle and are prorated, and "you can’t remove seats during your current billing cycle".Source: getharvest.com/pricing, 19 September 2026 |
| SSO, SAML and SCIM | None. No SAML, no SCIM, no Okta or Azure AD connector. Microsoft and Apple sign-in exist and are not the same thing. Harvest wins this row. | SAML-based SSO on Enterprise. The grid’s "SAML-based SSO" row reads "Sign in via your identity provider (Okta, Azure AD…)", with the features page naming "SAML-based SSO like Microsoft and Okta". The pricing FAQ adds "you will not be able to enable SAML-based single-sign-on during your trial". No SCIM wording appears on the pages checked.Source: getharvest.com/pricing and /features, 19 September 2026 |
| REST API | Yes, on the paid plan. 138 paths and 265 operations across 24 tags, bearer authentication, 60 requests a minute per API key and 180 a minute per user. | Yes. Its integrations page offers to "build a bespoke integration with the Harvest API", links Developer Documentation from the site navigation, and lists a "Python Library" whose entry reads "Create Python applications with the Harvest API". No path, operation or rate-limit figures are published on the pages checked.Source: getharvest.com/integrations, 19 September 2026 |
| Webhook subscription API | None. There is no way to register your own endpoint and receive resource events. Every integration webhook points inward, and the one outbound webhook is a workspace-level Slack URL that fires when a leave request is approved, rejected or cancelled. | Not stated. No webhook wording appears on the pages checked. The developer surface those pages name is the Harvest API and its Developer Documentation, and the automation route they name is Zapier: "Connect Harvest to 1,000+ apps with automated workflows using Zapier."Source: getharvest.com/integrations, 19 September 2026 |
| Native MCP server for AI assistants | Yes, first party. OAuth 2.1 with discovery and Dynamic Client Registration, or a personal access token, one scope, and 1,000 successful MCP tool calls a month free on free workspaces with the meter off on any paid plan. | Not stated. No MCP wording appears on the pages checked. The automation route those pages name is Zapier and, for code, the Harvest API.Source: getharvest.com/integrations, 19 September 2026 |
| Mobile and desktop apps | iPhone only, and partial. One iOS app with a timer widget, covering the assistant, the dashboard, leave, the team and time. No Android app, and no projects, invoicing or documents in it. | Web, desktop and mobile, on every plan. The Free plan card names "Mac & iOS apps", and the site names a desktop app for macOS and Windows and a mobile app for iOS and Android. Harvest wins this row.Source: getharvest.com/pricing, 19 September 2026 |
The HR half, where the gap is
Employee records and custom fields
- Growee
- Yes. One employee record with positions, departments, levels, work locations, contract types, benefits and custom fields you define.
- Harvest
- Not stated. No employee-record or HRIS wording appears on the pages checked. Harvest describes itself as "Everything your team needs to keep track of hours and projects", and its unit is a seat that tracks time.Source: getharvest.com/pricing and /features, 19 September 2026
Documents with expiry dates and templates
- Growee
- Yes, on the free plan. Document types you define, filed on the person with an expiration date, plus templates that fill from employee data.
- Harvest
- Not stated. No document-management feature appears on the pages checked; the only "document" wording is the Developer Documentation link in the site navigation.Source: getharvest.com/pricing and /features, 19 September 2026
Leave requests, policies and balances
- Growee
- Yes, on the free plan. Requests with approve, reject and cancel, policies per leave type, balances by year and type, calendar events, and CSV or XLSX export.
- Harvest
- Not stated. No leave, time-off, PTO or vacation wording appears anywhere on the pages checked.Source: getharvest.com/pricing and /features, 19 September 2026
Public-holiday calendars
- Growee
- One calendar per workspace. Legal holidays are scoped to the workspace with no country field, so a team spread across countries gets a single public-holiday calendar, never one per employee country.
- Harvest
- Not stated. No holiday-calendar wording appears on the pages checked.Source: getharvest.com/pricing and /features, 19 September 2026
Performance reviews
- Growee
- Yes, on the free plan, and the review types are yours to define. Growee ships no preset evaluation types.
- Harvest
- Not stated. No performance-review wording appears on the pages checked.Source: getharvest.com/pricing and /features, 19 September 2026
Benefits
- Growee
- Records, not administration. A benefits catalogue and a link to the employee. No carriers, no eligibility rules, no enrolment.
- Harvest
- Not stated. No benefits wording appears on the pages checked.Source: getharvest.com/pricing and /features, 19 September 2026
Payroll
- Growee
- None. Payroll in Growee is a module flag and a permission name, never a calculation and never a payslip. If payroll is the thing you are buying, neither product is the answer.
- Harvest
- Not stated as a Harvest feature. The closest entry in its integrations directory is Deel: "Transfer timesheets from Harvest to Deel with ease."Source: getharvest.com/integrations, 19 September 2026
Time, rates and client billing, where the two overlap
Time tracking
- Growee
- Yes, on the free plan. Start and stop timers, entries in worked minutes, weekly submission. No rota and no shift scheduling.
- Harvest
- Yes, on every plan including Free, and this is its core: "One-click timers, weekly/daily timesheets, calendar imports", with "Use live timers or add entries directly to your day or week view" and "Custom reminders for consistent time tracking".Source: getharvest.com/pricing and /features, 19 September 2026
Timesheet approval
- Growee
- Yes, on the free plan. A week is submitted and approved, with a weekly approval report behind it.
- Harvest
- On Enterprise. The grid’s "Timesheet approval" row, "Review and approve hours before they’re billed", is checked in the Enterprise column only, and the trial FAQ says approvals are among the premium features you can try during the 30 days.Source: getharvest.com/pricing, 19 September 2026
Billable rate and internal cost rate
- Growee
- Both, on the timesheet row itself. Each row carries a billed hourly rate and an internal cost hourly rate, and each project member carries a billed rate, a cost type and a per-project internal cost.
- Harvest
- From the Teams plan. The grid’s "Billable and cost rates for teams" row, "Set what each person bills and what they cost", is checked for Teams and Enterprise and blank for Free, and the features page adds "Keep track of internal costs and review past project data to inform future project scope and estimates".Source: getharvest.com/pricing and /features, 19 September 2026
Project profitability and billing models
- Growee
- On the paid plan, with six billing models: retainer, fixed price, time and materials, PPC passthrough, revenue share and internal. The revenue basis follows the model. Who sees it matters: the margin, the billed rates, the budget and the billing model need the payroll or salary permission, which no default role except the admin holds, so in a new workspace this is admin only until an admin grants it.
- Harvest
- On Enterprise. The grid’s "Profitability reporting" row, "Track margins by client, project, task, or team", is checked in the Enterprise column only. No billing-model list is published on the pages checked; what is named is the grid’s "Supports both Time & Materials and Fixed Fee projects" row, "Bill hourly or at a flat rate per project", on all three plans.Source: getharvest.com/pricing, 19 September 2026
Client invoicing, payments and reminders
- Growee
- On the paid plan. Invoices with lines, recorded payments, history and a tax field, late marking, and payment reminder emails configured per workspace.
- Harvest
- Invoicing on every plan including Free: the grid’s "Invoicing" row, "Generate, send, and track polished invoices", is checked in all three columns. Online payment collection is described on the features page, "PayPal and Stripe integrations let your clients quickly and conveniently pay invoices online", with no plan named there; the only payment row in the plan grid, "Accounting and payment integrations", is checked for Teams and Enterprise and blank for Free. No invoice payment reminder appears on the pages checked; the reminders Harvest names are time-tracking reminders.Source: getharvest.com/pricing and /features, 19 September 2026
Invoice from tracked time
- Growee
- Time and money sit on one project record: a timesheet row carries its own billed hourly rate, and the project carries the invoices. Growee documents no one-step conversion from a tracked week into an invoice, so treat that step as manual.
- Harvest
- Yes, and it is the headline of the invoicing section of its features page, on every plan including Free: "Turn your team’s tracked time and expenses into invoices and collect payment quickly with integrated online payments", and "Easily create and send accurate invoices using your team’s time and expenses already tracked in Harvest".Source: getharvest.com/features, 19 September 2026
Expense capture
- Growee
- On the paid plan. Expenses with a category, bundles and an approval status, plus AI receipt scanning. Every role, the plain employee included, can file its own.
- Harvest
- Yes, on every plan including Free: the grid’s "Expense tracking" row, "Log receipts and reimbursable costs alongside time."Source: getharvest.com/pricing, 19 September 2026
Price, platform and access
Price basis and free tier
- Growee
- Free for up to 3 employees. Above that the base plan is charged per employee, with no seat minimum and no platform fee. The current figure is on the pricing page.
- Harvest
- Free plan at "$0 forever", capped at "1 seat" and "2 projects". Teams from $11 per seat per month, or $9 per seat per month billed annually at $108 per seat per year. Enterprise from $17.50 per seat per month, or $14 billed annually at $168 per seat per year. Enterprise Plus is "Custom pricing". "All prices in USD", annual is "20% off", and every paid plan opens with a 30-day trial and no credit card.Source: getharvest.com/pricing, 19 September 2026
Per seat or per employee
- Growee
- Per employee. The unit is the employee record, so the bill follows headcount and nothing else moves it.
- Harvest
- Per seat, with usage on top. Teams and Enterprise carry "Unlimited seats" priced per seat, and Harvest’s own note reads "Your base rate includes core features. As your team grows, additional invoices, projects, clients, and tasks are billed based on what you use, so you’re never overpaying." Seats can be added mid-cycle and are prorated, and "you can’t remove seats during your current billing cycle".Source: getharvest.com/pricing, 19 September 2026
SSO, SAML and SCIM
- Growee
- None. No SAML, no SCIM, no Okta or Azure AD connector. Microsoft and Apple sign-in exist and are not the same thing. Harvest wins this row.
- Harvest
- SAML-based SSO on Enterprise. The grid’s "SAML-based SSO" row reads "Sign in via your identity provider (Okta, Azure AD…)", with the features page naming "SAML-based SSO like Microsoft and Okta". The pricing FAQ adds "you will not be able to enable SAML-based single-sign-on during your trial". No SCIM wording appears on the pages checked.Source: getharvest.com/pricing and /features, 19 September 2026
REST API
- Growee
- Yes, on the paid plan. 138 paths and 265 operations across 24 tags, bearer authentication, 60 requests a minute per API key and 180 a minute per user.
- Harvest
- Yes. Its integrations page offers to "build a bespoke integration with the Harvest API", links Developer Documentation from the site navigation, and lists a "Python Library" whose entry reads "Create Python applications with the Harvest API". No path, operation or rate-limit figures are published on the pages checked.Source: getharvest.com/integrations, 19 September 2026
Webhook subscription API
- Growee
- None. There is no way to register your own endpoint and receive resource events. Every integration webhook points inward, and the one outbound webhook is a workspace-level Slack URL that fires when a leave request is approved, rejected or cancelled.
- Harvest
- Not stated. No webhook wording appears on the pages checked. The developer surface those pages name is the Harvest API and its Developer Documentation, and the automation route they name is Zapier: "Connect Harvest to 1,000+ apps with automated workflows using Zapier."Source: getharvest.com/integrations, 19 September 2026
Native MCP server for AI assistants
- Growee
- Yes, first party. OAuth 2.1 with discovery and Dynamic Client Registration, or a personal access token, one scope, and 1,000 successful MCP tool calls a month free on free workspaces with the meter off on any paid plan.
- Harvest
- Not stated. No MCP wording appears on the pages checked. The automation route those pages name is Zapier and, for code, the Harvest API.Source: getharvest.com/integrations, 19 September 2026
Mobile and desktop apps
- Growee
- iPhone only, and partial. One iOS app with a timer widget, covering the assistant, the dashboard, leave, the team and time. No Android app, and no projects, invoicing or documents in it.
- Harvest
- Web, desktop and mobile, on every plan. The Free plan card names "Mac & iOS apps", and the site names a desktop app for macOS and Windows and a mobile app for iOS and Android. Harvest wins this row.Source: getharvest.com/pricing, 19 September 2026
What you keep moving off Harvest
The reason you bought Harvest does not go away. Time against a client project, a rate on the hour, a bill at the end of the month. Growee carries all of it, and puts a cost rate next to the billable one.
Time per project, with a timer
A timesheet row belongs to a project and a task, so a designer split across two retainers logs two rows rather than one lump of forty hours. Timers start and stop, and the week is submitted and approved before anyone bills from it.
See time trackingA billable rate and a cost rate on the same row
Every timesheet row carries a billed hourly rate and an internal cost hourly rate, and every project member carries a billed rate and a per-project internal cost. That pair is what turns logged hours into a margin instead of a total.
See projects and profitabilityProject profitability, on six billing models
Retainer, fixed price, time and materials, PPC passthrough, revenue share and internal. The revenue basis follows the model rather than assuming every project is billed by the hour. Profitability is on the paid plan, and the margin, the rates and the billing model are visible to admins only until an admin grants the permission.
See how profitability is calculatedClient invoicing and expenses
Invoices with lines, recorded payments, a tax field, late marking and reminder emails, plus expenses with categories, bundles, approval and AI receipt scanning. Both are on the paid plan.
See invoicingWhat you gain, the HR half
None of leave, employee records, expiring documents or performance reviews appears on the Harvest pricing, features or integrations pages we read on 19 September 2026. That is the half an agency currently runs in a spreadsheet, or in a second subscription.
The employee record itself
Positions, departments, levels, work locations, contract types, benefits and custom fields you define. The person who logs the hours and the person in the org chart are one record, not two exports that have to be reconciled.
Leave requests, policies and balances
A request goes in with dates and a type, the approver decides in one click, and the balance moves. Policies are per leave type, balances are per year and type, and the whole list exports. On the free plan.
Documents that expire
The NDA, the freelance agreement, the addendum when a rate changes. Each is a document type you define, filed on the person with an expiration date, and templates fill themselves from employee data. On the free plan.
Performance reviews you define
Evaluations with review types you create yourself. Growee ships no preset types, so the cycle matches how you already run reviews rather than a vendor template. On the free plan.
The whole setup, from the timesheet row to the client invoice, is written up on Growee for agencies.
Who should stay on Harvest
Four cases where switching is the wrong call. We would rather you read them here than find them in week three.
You want the integration directory
Harvest publishes a directory of connected apps grouped into categories from analytics to project management, and its pricing page counts "50+ core integrations" on every plan. Named there are Asana, Slack, Trello, Jira, GitHub, Basecamp, QuickBooks Online, Xero, Stripe, PayPal, Google Calendar, Outlook.com and Zapier, which alone reaches "1,000+ apps with automated workflows". Growee has a fixed integration list and no marketplace: Slack, Google Calendar, Gmail, Jira, GitHub, Stripe, Yousign, SES, HubSpot import, and Microsoft and Apple sign-in.
You need SAML single sign-on
Harvest ships SAML-based SSO on its Enterprise plan. Growee has no SAML and no SCIM, and social sign-in is not a substitute. If your identity provider is non-negotiable, this decides it.
You need resource scheduling or forecasting
Harvest sells Forecast alongside it, "The fast and simple way to schedule your team across projects", and its own plans name team capacity reporting. Growee has timesheets and projects but no rota, no shift scheduling and no forward resource plan.
You are one person, or you bill from a laptop and a phone
Harvest’s free plan is one seat and two projects, and it includes time tracking, invoicing and expenses on Mac and iOS. A solo freelancer invoicing two clients does not need an employee record, and Growee would be the wrong shape.
Integration and plan details in this section are quoted from getharvest.com/integrations, 19 September 2026 and getharvest.com/pricing, 19 September 2026.
Pricing
Two different units, which is the thing to weigh before the feature list. Harvest bills per seat and meters usage on top. Growee bills per employee.
Growee
Free for up to 3 employees, with HR, leave, documents, reviews, time tracking, timesheet approval and projects on that free plan. Above 3 employees the base plan is charged per employee, with no seat minimum and no platform fee, and client invoicing, expenses and project profitability sit on the paid plan. The current figure, monthly and annual, is on the pricing page.
See Growee pricingHarvest
A Free plan at "$0 forever" limited to "1 seat" and "2 projects", which includes time tracking, invoicing, expense tracking and "Mac & iOS apps". Teams from $11 per seat per month, or $9 per seat per month billed annually at $108 per seat per year. Enterprise from $17.50 per seat per month, or $14 billed annually at $168 per seat per year, which is where profitability reporting, timesheet approval, the activity log and SAML SSO start. Enterprise Plus is "Custom pricing". "All prices in USD", annual carries a "20% off" discount, and every paid plan opens with a 30-day trial and no credit card.
Harvest also notes that "additional invoices, projects, clients, and tasks are billed based on what you use", so the seat price is a base rate rather than the whole bill.
Source: getharvest.com/pricing, 19 September 2026
Harvest prices are shown in the US dollars its own pricing page publishes, with no conversion applied. Growee's own figure lives on the pricing page.
Harvest alternative: frequently asked questions
Is there a Harvest alternative that also handles leave and employee records?
Yes. Growee keeps the part you use Harvest for, time tracked against a client project with a billable rate and an internal cost rate on the row, and adds the records a time-tracking tool does not hold: employees with custom fields, leave requests with policies and balances, documents with expiry dates, and performance reviews with types you define. Leave, documents and reviews are on the free plan, which covers up to 3 employees; client invoicing, expenses and project profitability are on the paid plan. On the Harvest side, none of leave, time off, PTO, employee records or performance reviews appears on its pricing, features or integrations pages as read on 19 September 2026, which is a statement about the pages we read rather than a claim that Harvest ships nothing. See the full agency setup.
Can one tool replace BambooHR and Harvest?
For an agency of twenty to fifty people, usually yes, with two honest exceptions. Growee holds the BambooHR half, employees, leave, documents and reviews, and the Harvest half, time per project with billable and cost rates, project profitability across six billing models, and client invoicing, on one schema instead of two subscriptions and a monthly reconciliation. The exceptions are payroll and enterprise identity: Growee runs no payroll and issues no payslips, and it has no SAML SSO or SCIM, where Harvest ships SAML on its Enterprise plan (getharvest.com/pricing, 19 September 2026). If either is a requirement, you are keeping a second tool whatever the table says. Compare Growee with BambooHR.
Does Growee track time per client project like Harvest?
Yes, and one level deeper on cost. Timers start and stop, entries are stored in worked minutes, and a week is submitted and approved, all on the free plan. Each row belongs to a project and a task, and each row carries both a billed hourly rate and an internal cost hourly rate, so the same hours produce the client bill and the project margin. Harvest does this too, with cost rates from its Teams plan and profitability reporting and timesheet approval on Enterprise (getharvest.com/pricing, 19 September 2026). What differs is the direction the record grows: Harvest turns tracked time into an invoice on any plan, including Free, while Growee puts the same hours next to the employee record, the leave balance and the review. See time tracking and projects.
Source notes
Every Harvest claim on this page comes from a page on Harvest's own site, fetched on 19 September 2026 and returning HTTP 200. Nothing here comes from a listicle, a review site or recalled knowledge, and no Harvest capability is written that those pages did not show.
- getharvest.com/pricing read 19 September 2026. Source for the four plans and their prices, the Free plan's seat and project caps, the "20% off" annual discount, "All prices in USD", the 30-day trial terms, the usage note on additional invoices, projects, clients and tasks, the seat proration rules, and the plan-by-plan feature grid that places billable and cost rates on Teams and profitability reporting, timesheet approval, the activity log and SAML-based SSO on Enterprise.
- getharvest.com/features read 19 September 2026. Source for the timer and timesheet wording, time-tracking reminders, Timesheet Approvals, SAML-based SSO with Microsoft and Okta, budgets updating as time is tracked, capacity reporting, internal costs, the activity log, and the invoicing lines on turning tracked time and expenses into invoices and taking payment through PayPal and Stripe.
- getharvest.com/integrations read 19 September 2026. Source for the integration directory and its categories, the named apps, the Zapier reach of "1,000+ apps", the Deel timesheet transfer entry, and the invitation to build a bespoke integration with the Harvest API.
Where a cell reads "Not stated", no wording for that capability was found on those three pages on that date. It is a statement about the documentation we could read, not a claim that Harvest ships nothing: Harvest's help centre and developer documentation were not part of this check. Harvest's pricing page also shows a 20 percent annual discount, so the monthly and annual figures quoted here are two views of the same plan rather than two plans.
Growee's own cells come from the product itself, from the shipped configuration and from the pricing page, which is where the free and paid split in every Growee cell is set. The free tier covers up to 3 employees. No Growee price appears on this page on purpose: the pricing page is the single place that figure lives, so this comparison cannot drift from it.
One record for the hours, the cost and the person
Keep the timer and the invoice. Add the employee record, the leave balance and the review. Start free for up to 3 people.