BambooHR alternative for agencies that bill clients by the hour
Growee is a BambooHR alternative for agencies and service companies: it adds time tracking, employee cost and billing rates, project profitability and client invoicing to the HR record. BambooHR adds payroll and benefits administration, which Growee does not have. Growee is free for up to 3 employees, then a published per employee price, with no sales quote.

Quick answer
Pick Growee if the company bills clients for time. It keeps the HR record and adds the billing half: timers and weekly timesheets on the free plan, a billed rate and an internal cost rate on each timesheet row, project profit across six billing models, and client invoices with payments and reminders on the paid plan. Pick BambooHR if you need US payroll, benefits administration, SAML single sign-on or a large app marketplace, because Growee has none of those. Of the 19 rows below, 8 go to BambooHR.
Growee and BambooHR, 19 rows
Every BambooHR cell carries a quote from a BambooHR page and the date it was read. Where a page did not show a capability the cell says so, which is a statement about the documentation we could read and not a claim that BambooHR ships nothing. Rows Growee loses are rows here, not footnotes: 8 of them say so.
| Capability | Growee | BambooHR |
|---|---|---|
| Price and plan | ||
| Price basis and free tier | Free for up to 3 employees. Above that the base plan is per employee, linear, with no seat minimum and no platform fee. The figure is published on the pricing page, so there is no sales quote. | No free plan. "For companies with 25 employees or fewer, our HR software pricing is charged at a monthly flat rate starting at $250 USD/mo." Above that, "BambooHR pricing starts at $10 USD per employee per month for Core, $17 USD per employee per month for Pro, and $25 USD per employee per month for Elite." The call to action on each of its three package cards is "Get Quote". A "Start Free Trial" button exists, with no trial length stated on the pages checked.Source: bamboohr.com/pricing and bamboohr.com, 19 September 2026 |
| The HR record | ||
| Employee records and custom fields | Employee record with positions, departments, levels, work locations, contract types and benefits, plus custom fields on the employee resource. On the free plan. | "The Employee Record stores essential details like contact information, job history, benefits, documents, and more in one secure location." Custom fields are first-class in the API, with "Create Custom Field", "Edit Custom Field" and "List Archived Custom Fields" endpoints.Source: bamboohr.com/platform/hr-data-and-reporting and documentation.bamboohr.com/llms.txt, 19 September 2026 |
| Documents with expiry and templates | Document types with expiration dates, template generation and media-library storage. On the free plan. | Onboarding carries "New-hire packet templates" and "Signed document reports", plus e-signatures to "complete essential tax forms, I-9 verifications, and direct deposit details from anywhere", and the compliance page offers "automatic alerts for labor law updates". A document expiry tracker is stated on none of them: a raw sweep for "expir" returns zero hits across all ten /platform/ pages BambooHR lists in its own llms.txt. The nearest expiry wording is an email-alert type for "expiring certifications" in the API reference, which is a different thing.Source: bamboohr.com/platform/onboarding, bamboohr.com/platform/compliance and documentation.bamboohr.com/llms.txt, 19 September 2026 |
| Leave requests, policies and balances | Requests with approve, reject and cancel, policies per leave type, balances, milestones, calendar events, and CSV or XLSX export. On the free plan. | "Time-off management is included in every BambooHR plan, so you can track holidays, sick days, PTO, and parental leave without extra purchases." The feature list names "Time-off requests & approvals", "Leave tracking", "Time-off calculator" and a "Who’s Out calendar".Source: bamboohr.com/platform/time-and-attendance, 19 September 2026 |
| Legal holiday calendars | One legal-holiday calendar per workspace. The record carries no country column, so a workforce spread across countries shares a single calendar, never one per employee country. On the free plan. | Not stated in marketing copy on any page checked. The API reference describes a read-only global holiday catalog and a "Create Company Holiday" endpoint whose body "may be fully-specified or carry a globalHolidayUuid that seeds name, dates, and countries from the global catalog entry", with "countryCodes" on the update endpoint. That is integrator documentation, not a customer-facing feature page.Source: documentation.bamboohr.com/llms.txt, 19 September 2026 |
| Performance reviews | Evaluations with evaluation types each workspace defines for itself. The demo data in a new account includes sample types, which Clear Demo Data removes, so the first real cycle is built from scratch. On the free plan. BambooHR wins this row. | "Use pre-built reviews, or make your own", and "if you need to get started quickly, take advantage of pre-built solutions and questions". 360-degree feedback is stated: "BambooHR enables self, manager-to-employee, peer, and skip-level reviews". On the package matrix, "Custom Review Cycles", "360° Feedback", "1:1s Management" and "Goal Tracking" are blank on Core and present on Pro and Elite.Source: bamboohr.com/platform/performance-management and bamboohr.com/pricing, 19 September 2026 |
| Time, projects and money | ||
| Time tracking, approval and scheduling | Start and stop timers, entries in worked minutes, weekly submissions with approval and a weekly approval report. No shift scheduling and no rota. On the free plan. | Time & Attendance is a separately quoted add-on, listed on the pricing page beside Payroll, Benefits Administration and Global Employment rather than inside Core, Pro or Elite. Its bullets are "Shift Scheduling", "Meal & Rest Breaks", "Project Tracking & Billable Hours", "Automated Approval Workflows", "Automatic Overtime Calculations" and "iPad Time Kiosk & Time Clocks", with "automatic overtime calculations for all 50 US states".Source: bamboohr.com/pricing and bamboohr.com/platform/time-and-attendance, 19 September 2026 |
| Billable and internal cost rates | A billed hourly rate and an internal cost hourly rate on the timesheet row itself, plus a billed rate, an internal hourly cost, a cost type and an internal monthly cost per project member. The reporting that consumes them is on the paid plan. | One bullet, "Project Tracking & Billable Hours", on the Time & Attendance add-on. No bill rate and no internal employee cost rate is described on any page checked, and the phrases "cost rate" and "bill rate" appear nowhere on BambooHR's pages, raw HTML included. The time-tracking API returns "hours, date, employee, project, task, and shift differential information", naming no rate field.Source: bamboohr.com/pricing and documentation.bamboohr.com/llms.txt, 19 September 2026 |
| Project profitability and billing models | Profit is revenue minus cost, and the revenue basis is chosen by the project's billing model. There are six: retainer, fixed price, time and materials, PPC passthrough, revenue share and internal. The margin, the billed rates, the budget and the billing model sit behind the payroll and salary permissions, which no default role except admin holds, so a manager or project lead does not see them until an admin grants it. On the paid plan. | Not stated on any page checked. "Profitability", "project margin" and "project budget" return no hits on BambooHR's marketing pages, its release-note index or its API reference, in the raw HTML as well as the visible text.Source: bamboohr.com/pricing, bamboohr.com/platform/time-and-attendance, bamboohr.com/platform/hr-data-and-reporting and documentation.bamboohr.com/llms.txt, 19 September 2026 |
| Client invoicing with payments and reminders | Invoice lines, recorded payments, history, a tax field, late marking and per-workspace payment reminder emails. Romanian e-Factura is wired as one VAT key. On the paid plan. | Not stated as a product capability on any page checked. The invoice wording that does exist on BambooHR's side is about paying BambooHR: its pricing page says "We accept credit cards and ACH for customers paying monthly", and a release note lets account owners "export one or multiple past invoices in a CSV" from their own Billing History. Neither is a tool for invoicing your clients.Source: bamboohr.com/pricing, bamboohr.com/platform/payroll, bamboohr.com/product-updates and documentation.bamboohr.com/llms.txt, 19 September 2026 |
| Payroll, benefits and US compliance | ||
| Payroll | None. Payroll is a module flag and a permission name in the code, never a calculation and never a payslip. BambooHR wins this row. | "We take care of all federal, state, and local taxes for your US-based workers", with "W-2 creation", "Direct deposit" and "Unlimited and multi-rate payroll". The scope is stated plainly: "BambooHR Payroll is designed to pay US-based employees and includes US federal, state, and local tax filing." Outside the US it names local payroll integrations, Marketplace partners and its own Employer of Record instead.Source: bamboohr.com/platform/payroll, 19 September 2026 |
| Benefits administration | Records, not administration: a benefits catalog and a link to the employee. No carriers, no eligibility rules, no enrolment. BambooHR wins this row. | "benefits elections that are easy to view, easy to manage, and easy to communicate across your organization for all common plan types", covering "Medical, dental, and vision", "Retirement and life insurance", "HSAs and FSAs" and disability, plus carrier connections where "Your benefits provider receives data directly from BambooHR". It is an add-on: "Benefits Administration is an add-on solution available to customers who subscribe to BambooHR for an additional cost", and it "is for US-based employees".Source: bamboohr.com/platform/benefits-administration, 19 September 2026 |
| US tax filings | None. The only statutory filing integration in the product is Romanian e-Factura. BambooHR wins this row. | "BambooHR handles federal, state, and local payroll tax filing for your US-based employees", with "W-2 creation" and "State and federal tax filing" in the Payroll feature list and "Federal & State Tax Filing" on the pricing page add-on, footnoted "US employees only".Source: bamboohr.com/platform/payroll and bamboohr.com/pricing, 19 September 2026 |
| Platform, security and access | ||
| SSO: SAML and SCIM | Neither. No SAML, no SCIM, no directory sync. Microsoft and Apple social sign-in exist and are not the same thing. BambooHR wins this row. | SAML yes: "Installing this app in your BambooHR account will enable you to configure Single Sign-On between your identity provider and BambooHR (as the service provider) using SAML 2.0", and the home page security list carries "SAML Support". SCIM is not stated on any page checked, the 406-entry API reference catalog included, and a raw-HTML sweep for it returns nothing.Source: bamboohr.com, the SAML Marketplace listing and documentation.bamboohr.com/llms.txt, 19 September 2026 |
| REST API | Laravel Restify. The published OpenAPI document carries 138 paths and 265 operations across 24 tags. Auth is a permission-scoped bearer API key with an optional IP allowlist. The rate limits are published: 60 requests a minute per API key, 180 a minute per user. On the paid plan. | "The BambooHR API is a RESTful Internet protocol built around making semantically meaningful HTTPS requests to access or modify a resource (usually done by an employee)." Two auth methods: OAuth, and an API key sent "over HTTP Basic Authentication. Use the secret key as the username and any random string for the password." No API-wide rate limit is published on the pages checked; the only rate-limit wording found is scoped to one webhook-log endpoint. No endpoint count is published either. The 406 figure above is our count of reference entries in BambooHR's own documentation index, not a number BambooHR states.Source: documentation.bamboohr.com/docs and documentation.bamboohr.com/llms.txt, 19 September 2026 |
| Native MCP and AI connectors | A native MCP server, free on every tier. OAuth 2.1 with discovery and Dynamic Client Registration, or a personal access token; one scope, mcp:use; streamable HTTP transport. Workspaces on the free plan are capped at 1,000 successful tool calls a month and paying workspaces are not capped. Claude, ChatGPT and Codex are documented clients. | AI Connectors, announced 14 September 2026. "The BambooHR connector for Claude is currently available in Beta. Connections to ChatGPT and Gemini will be available in a future release." An administrator turns it on under Settings and then Apps, where "administrators can enable the feature and manage access. Options are available to provide access to admins only, specific access levels, or everyone at the company." It runs on the person's own permissions, and writes are confirmed first: "Before any changes are applied, you'll review and confirm the request so you stay in control." The endpoint is the company domain plus api/mcp.Source: bamboohr.com/product-updates/bamboohr-ai-connectors, 19 September 2026 |
| Marketplace apps | No marketplace and no app directory. Integrations are a fixed built-in list that includes Slack, Google Calendar, Gmail, Jira, GitHub, Stripe, Yousign, Amazon SES, a HubSpot importer, and Microsoft and Apple sign-in. BambooHR wins this row. | "Select from over 150 integrations designed to streamline processes and save time", repeated on the pricing page as "We currently have over 150 integration partners" and on the home page as "150+ pre-built integrations". BambooHR does not separate apps it publishes itself from partner-published ones.Source: bamboohr.com/integrations, bamboohr.com/pricing and bamboohr.com, 19 September 2026 |
| Customer-facing audit log | None. Invoices keep their own history and AI tool calls are redacted internally, but there is no workspace-wide trail an administrator can read. BambooHR wins this row. | An Audit Trail, announced 14 September 2026 and labelled beta: "The updated Audit Trail gives admins clearer visibility into whether activity came directly from a person or through Chat". "Each entry now identifies the actor visually and provides a plain-language description, action type, and timestamp", and "Admins can narrow the report using filters for date, actor, action, area, and person". BambooHR labels it beta and says access "may be limited to specific packages if it becomes generally available". Payroll separately carries a bare "Audit trail and garnishment" bullet with no elaboration.Source: bamboohr.com/product-updates/audit-trail-agent-attribution-and-ui-updates-beta and bamboohr.com/platform/payroll, 19 September 2026 |
| Mobile | One iOS app, Growee HR for iPhone, with a timer widget. It covers the assistant, sign-in, dashboard, holidays, home, settings, team and time. No projects, no invoicing, no CRM and no documents, and no Android app. BambooHR wins this row. | "The BambooHR Mobile app is available to download in Google Play for Android and the App Store for iOS." A second app ships for hiring, distinct from the Mobile app.Source: bamboohr.com/mobile and bamboohr.com/platform/applicant-tracking-system, 19 September 2026 |
Price and plan
Price basis and free tier
- Growee
- Free for up to 3 employees. Above that the base plan is per employee, linear, with no seat minimum and no platform fee. The figure is published on the pricing page, so there is no sales quote.
- BambooHR
- No free plan. "For companies with 25 employees or fewer, our HR software pricing is charged at a monthly flat rate starting at $250 USD/mo." Above that, "BambooHR pricing starts at $10 USD per employee per month for Core, $17 USD per employee per month for Pro, and $25 USD per employee per month for Elite." The call to action on each of its three package cards is "Get Quote". A "Start Free Trial" button exists, with no trial length stated on the pages checked.Source: bamboohr.com/pricing and bamboohr.com, 19 September 2026
The HR record
Employee records and custom fields
- Growee
- Employee record with positions, departments, levels, work locations, contract types and benefits, plus custom fields on the employee resource. On the free plan.
- BambooHR
- "The Employee Record stores essential details like contact information, job history, benefits, documents, and more in one secure location." Custom fields are first-class in the API, with "Create Custom Field", "Edit Custom Field" and "List Archived Custom Fields" endpoints.Source: bamboohr.com/platform/hr-data-and-reporting and documentation.bamboohr.com/llms.txt, 19 September 2026
Documents with expiry and templates
- Growee
- Document types with expiration dates, template generation and media-library storage. On the free plan.
- BambooHR
- Onboarding carries "New-hire packet templates" and "Signed document reports", plus e-signatures to "complete essential tax forms, I-9 verifications, and direct deposit details from anywhere", and the compliance page offers "automatic alerts for labor law updates". A document expiry tracker is stated on none of them: a raw sweep for "expir" returns zero hits across all ten /platform/ pages BambooHR lists in its own llms.txt. The nearest expiry wording is an email-alert type for "expiring certifications" in the API reference, which is a different thing.Source: bamboohr.com/platform/onboarding, bamboohr.com/platform/compliance and documentation.bamboohr.com/llms.txt, 19 September 2026
Leave requests, policies and balances
- Growee
- Requests with approve, reject and cancel, policies per leave type, balances, milestones, calendar events, and CSV or XLSX export. On the free plan.
- BambooHR
- "Time-off management is included in every BambooHR plan, so you can track holidays, sick days, PTO, and parental leave without extra purchases." The feature list names "Time-off requests & approvals", "Leave tracking", "Time-off calculator" and a "Who’s Out calendar".Source: bamboohr.com/platform/time-and-attendance, 19 September 2026
Legal holiday calendars
- Growee
- One legal-holiday calendar per workspace. The record carries no country column, so a workforce spread across countries shares a single calendar, never one per employee country. On the free plan.
- BambooHR
- Not stated in marketing copy on any page checked. The API reference describes a read-only global holiday catalog and a "Create Company Holiday" endpoint whose body "may be fully-specified or carry a globalHolidayUuid that seeds name, dates, and countries from the global catalog entry", with "countryCodes" on the update endpoint. That is integrator documentation, not a customer-facing feature page.Source: documentation.bamboohr.com/llms.txt, 19 September 2026
Performance reviews
- Growee
- Evaluations with evaluation types each workspace defines for itself. The demo data in a new account includes sample types, which Clear Demo Data removes, so the first real cycle is built from scratch. On the free plan. BambooHR wins this row.
- BambooHR
- "Use pre-built reviews, or make your own", and "if you need to get started quickly, take advantage of pre-built solutions and questions". 360-degree feedback is stated: "BambooHR enables self, manager-to-employee, peer, and skip-level reviews". On the package matrix, "Custom Review Cycles", "360° Feedback", "1:1s Management" and "Goal Tracking" are blank on Core and present on Pro and Elite.Source: bamboohr.com/platform/performance-management and bamboohr.com/pricing, 19 September 2026
Time, projects and money
Time tracking, approval and scheduling
- Growee
- Start and stop timers, entries in worked minutes, weekly submissions with approval and a weekly approval report. No shift scheduling and no rota. On the free plan.
- BambooHR
- Time & Attendance is a separately quoted add-on, listed on the pricing page beside Payroll, Benefits Administration and Global Employment rather than inside Core, Pro or Elite. Its bullets are "Shift Scheduling", "Meal & Rest Breaks", "Project Tracking & Billable Hours", "Automated Approval Workflows", "Automatic Overtime Calculations" and "iPad Time Kiosk & Time Clocks", with "automatic overtime calculations for all 50 US states".Source: bamboohr.com/pricing and bamboohr.com/platform/time-and-attendance, 19 September 2026
Billable and internal cost rates
- Growee
- A billed hourly rate and an internal cost hourly rate on the timesheet row itself, plus a billed rate, an internal hourly cost, a cost type and an internal monthly cost per project member. The reporting that consumes them is on the paid plan.
- BambooHR
- One bullet, "Project Tracking & Billable Hours", on the Time & Attendance add-on. No bill rate and no internal employee cost rate is described on any page checked, and the phrases "cost rate" and "bill rate" appear nowhere on BambooHR's pages, raw HTML included. The time-tracking API returns "hours, date, employee, project, task, and shift differential information", naming no rate field.Source: bamboohr.com/pricing and documentation.bamboohr.com/llms.txt, 19 September 2026
Project profitability and billing models
- Growee
- Profit is revenue minus cost, and the revenue basis is chosen by the project's billing model. There are six: retainer, fixed price, time and materials, PPC passthrough, revenue share and internal. The margin, the billed rates, the budget and the billing model sit behind the payroll and salary permissions, which no default role except admin holds, so a manager or project lead does not see them until an admin grants it. On the paid plan.
- BambooHR
- Not stated on any page checked. "Profitability", "project margin" and "project budget" return no hits on BambooHR's marketing pages, its release-note index or its API reference, in the raw HTML as well as the visible text.Source: bamboohr.com/pricing, bamboohr.com/platform/time-and-attendance, bamboohr.com/platform/hr-data-and-reporting and documentation.bamboohr.com/llms.txt, 19 September 2026
Client invoicing with payments and reminders
- Growee
- Invoice lines, recorded payments, history, a tax field, late marking and per-workspace payment reminder emails. Romanian e-Factura is wired as one VAT key. On the paid plan.
- BambooHR
- Not stated as a product capability on any page checked. The invoice wording that does exist on BambooHR's side is about paying BambooHR: its pricing page says "We accept credit cards and ACH for customers paying monthly", and a release note lets account owners "export one or multiple past invoices in a CSV" from their own Billing History. Neither is a tool for invoicing your clients.Source: bamboohr.com/pricing, bamboohr.com/platform/payroll, bamboohr.com/product-updates and documentation.bamboohr.com/llms.txt, 19 September 2026
Payroll, benefits and US compliance
Payroll
- Growee
- None. Payroll is a module flag and a permission name in the code, never a calculation and never a payslip. BambooHR wins this row.
- BambooHR
- "We take care of all federal, state, and local taxes for your US-based workers", with "W-2 creation", "Direct deposit" and "Unlimited and multi-rate payroll". The scope is stated plainly: "BambooHR Payroll is designed to pay US-based employees and includes US federal, state, and local tax filing." Outside the US it names local payroll integrations, Marketplace partners and its own Employer of Record instead.Source: bamboohr.com/platform/payroll, 19 September 2026
Benefits administration
- Growee
- Records, not administration: a benefits catalog and a link to the employee. No carriers, no eligibility rules, no enrolment. BambooHR wins this row.
- BambooHR
- "benefits elections that are easy to view, easy to manage, and easy to communicate across your organization for all common plan types", covering "Medical, dental, and vision", "Retirement and life insurance", "HSAs and FSAs" and disability, plus carrier connections where "Your benefits provider receives data directly from BambooHR". It is an add-on: "Benefits Administration is an add-on solution available to customers who subscribe to BambooHR for an additional cost", and it "is for US-based employees".Source: bamboohr.com/platform/benefits-administration, 19 September 2026
US tax filings
- Growee
- None. The only statutory filing integration in the product is Romanian e-Factura. BambooHR wins this row.
- BambooHR
- "BambooHR handles federal, state, and local payroll tax filing for your US-based employees", with "W-2 creation" and "State and federal tax filing" in the Payroll feature list and "Federal & State Tax Filing" on the pricing page add-on, footnoted "US employees only".Source: bamboohr.com/platform/payroll and bamboohr.com/pricing, 19 September 2026
Platform, security and access
SSO: SAML and SCIM
- Growee
- Neither. No SAML, no SCIM, no directory sync. Microsoft and Apple social sign-in exist and are not the same thing. BambooHR wins this row.
- BambooHR
- SAML yes: "Installing this app in your BambooHR account will enable you to configure Single Sign-On between your identity provider and BambooHR (as the service provider) using SAML 2.0", and the home page security list carries "SAML Support". SCIM is not stated on any page checked, the 406-entry API reference catalog included, and a raw-HTML sweep for it returns nothing.Source: bamboohr.com, the SAML Marketplace listing and documentation.bamboohr.com/llms.txt, 19 September 2026
REST API
- Growee
- Laravel Restify. The published OpenAPI document carries 138 paths and 265 operations across 24 tags. Auth is a permission-scoped bearer API key with an optional IP allowlist. The rate limits are published: 60 requests a minute per API key, 180 a minute per user. On the paid plan.
- BambooHR
- "The BambooHR API is a RESTful Internet protocol built around making semantically meaningful HTTPS requests to access or modify a resource (usually done by an employee)." Two auth methods: OAuth, and an API key sent "over HTTP Basic Authentication. Use the secret key as the username and any random string for the password." No API-wide rate limit is published on the pages checked; the only rate-limit wording found is scoped to one webhook-log endpoint. No endpoint count is published either. The 406 figure above is our count of reference entries in BambooHR's own documentation index, not a number BambooHR states.Source: documentation.bamboohr.com/docs and documentation.bamboohr.com/llms.txt, 19 September 2026
Native MCP and AI connectors
- Growee
- A native MCP server, free on every tier. OAuth 2.1 with discovery and Dynamic Client Registration, or a personal access token; one scope, mcp:use; streamable HTTP transport. Workspaces on the free plan are capped at 1,000 successful tool calls a month and paying workspaces are not capped. Claude, ChatGPT and Codex are documented clients.
- BambooHR
- AI Connectors, announced 14 September 2026. "The BambooHR connector for Claude is currently available in Beta. Connections to ChatGPT and Gemini will be available in a future release." An administrator turns it on under Settings and then Apps, where "administrators can enable the feature and manage access. Options are available to provide access to admins only, specific access levels, or everyone at the company." It runs on the person's own permissions, and writes are confirmed first: "Before any changes are applied, you'll review and confirm the request so you stay in control." The endpoint is the company domain plus api/mcp.Source: bamboohr.com/product-updates/bamboohr-ai-connectors, 19 September 2026
Marketplace apps
- Growee
- No marketplace and no app directory. Integrations are a fixed built-in list that includes Slack, Google Calendar, Gmail, Jira, GitHub, Stripe, Yousign, Amazon SES, a HubSpot importer, and Microsoft and Apple sign-in. BambooHR wins this row.
- BambooHR
- "Select from over 150 integrations designed to streamline processes and save time", repeated on the pricing page as "We currently have over 150 integration partners" and on the home page as "150+ pre-built integrations". BambooHR does not separate apps it publishes itself from partner-published ones.Source: bamboohr.com/integrations, bamboohr.com/pricing and bamboohr.com, 19 September 2026
Customer-facing audit log
- Growee
- None. Invoices keep their own history and AI tool calls are redacted internally, but there is no workspace-wide trail an administrator can read. BambooHR wins this row.
- BambooHR
- An Audit Trail, announced 14 September 2026 and labelled beta: "The updated Audit Trail gives admins clearer visibility into whether activity came directly from a person or through Chat". "Each entry now identifies the actor visually and provides a plain-language description, action type, and timestamp", and "Admins can narrow the report using filters for date, actor, action, area, and person". BambooHR labels it beta and says access "may be limited to specific packages if it becomes generally available". Payroll separately carries a bare "Audit trail and garnishment" bullet with no elaboration.Source: bamboohr.com/product-updates/audit-trail-agent-attribution-and-ui-updates-beta and bamboohr.com/platform/payroll, 19 September 2026
Mobile
- Growee
- One iOS app, Growee HR for iPhone, with a timer widget. It covers the assistant, sign-in, dashboard, holidays, home, settings, team and time. No projects, no invoicing, no CRM and no documents, and no Android app. BambooHR wins this row.
- BambooHR
- "The BambooHR Mobile app is available to download in Google Play for Android and the App Store for iOS." A second app ships for hiring, distinct from the Mobile app.Source: bamboohr.com/mobile and bamboohr.com/platform/applicant-tracking-system, 19 September 2026
Growee vs BambooHR
Two questions decide this one, and they pull in opposite directions.
Growee vs BambooHR: which one tells you what a project earned?
Growee. Profit is revenue minus cost on every project, with the revenue basis chosen by one of six billing models, and a billed rate and an internal cost rate sitting on the timesheet row itself. BambooHR publishes one bullet in this territory, "Project Tracking & Billable Hours", on its separately quoted Time & Attendance add-on, and the words profitability, project margin and project budget appear nowhere on the BambooHR pages checked on 19 September 2026. The catch on our side is who can see it: the margin, the rates, the budget and the billing model need the payroll or salary permission, which no default role except admin holds.
Growee vs BambooHR: which one runs payroll and benefits?
BambooHR, and it is not close. It files "federal, state, and local payroll tax" for US-based employees, creates W-2s and administers benefits elections with carrier connections, both sold as add-ons on top of a package and both scoped to US employees in BambooHR's own words. Growee has no payroll engine at all: payroll is a module flag and a permission name, never a calculation or a payslip, and the only statutory filing integration in the product is Romanian e-Factura. If payroll is the reason you are shopping, stop here and buy BambooHR.
Where the two products actually differ
The billing half of an agency, next to the HR record
BambooHR is an HR specialist, and on the pages checked on 19 September 2026 it describes no client invoicing, no project profitability and no employee cost rate: the words invoice, invoicing, profitability, cost rate and bill rate return no hits across its pricing page, its platform pages or its API reference. The one adjacent bullet is "Project Tracking & Billable Hours", on the separately quoted Time & Attendance add-on. Growee puts the other half in the same schema: a billed rate and an internal cost rate on each timesheet row, project profit across six billing models, and invoices to your own clients with payments, late marking and reminder emails. See projects and invoicing.
Timesheets on the free plan, not behind a quote
In BambooHR, time tracking is a separate Time & Attendance add-on, listed on the pricing page next to Payroll, Benefits Administration and Global Employment rather than inside Core, Pro or Elite (19 September 2026). That add-on is genuinely deeper than ours in one direction: it carries shift scheduling, meal and rest breaks, geolocation, a time kiosk and automatic overtime for all 50 US states, none of which Growee has. What it does not carry is a rate pair per timesheet row or a project margin. Growee's timers, weekly submissions and approval sit on the free plan, and the profitability reporting that consumes them is on the paid one.
Both sides now speak to AI assistants, on different terms
BambooHR shipped an AI connector of its own on 14 September 2026. In its words, "The BambooHR connector for Claude is currently available in Beta. Connections to ChatGPT and Gemini will be available in a future release." An administrator enables it under Settings > Apps and chooses whether access goes to "admins only, specific access levels, or everyone at the company", and writes are confirmed before they apply. Growee's MCP server is free on every tier, speaks OAuth 2.1 with Dynamic Client Registration, and is documented for Claude, ChatGPT and Codex today, with workspaces on the free plan capped at 1,000 successful tool calls a month. The honest summary is that BambooHR is one assistant in beta and Growee is several, generally available.
BambooHR alternatives, shortlisted
Two of these were checked against the vendor's own pages on 19 September 2026. Two were not, and say so rather than carry a claim this page cannot back.
Growee
The HR record plus the things an agency bills from: time, rates, project margin and client invoices.
Best for: Agencies and service companies of roughly 10 to 50 people that bill clients by the hour and want the HR record and the billing record in one schema.
Price: Free for up to 3 people, then a published per-employee price with no sales quote.
- Timers, weekly timesheets and approval on the free plan
- A billed rate and an internal cost rate on the timesheet row itself
- Project profitability across six billing models, on the paid plan
- Client invoicing with payments, late marking and reminder emails, on the paid plan
- A native MCP server on every tier for Claude, ChatGPT and Codex
BambooHR
A deep HR specialist that adds US payroll and benefits administration as quoted modules.
Best for: HR-led teams, especially US ones, that want people operations done thoroughly and will buy the rest separately.
Price: A flat rate from $250/month at 25 employees or fewer; above that Core $10, Pro $17, Elite $25 per employee/month, each behind a "Get Quote" form (checked 19 September 2026).
- Time off included in every plan, with a PTO calculator and a Who's Out calendar
- Pre-built review cycles as well as custom ones, on Pro and Elite
- US federal, state and local payroll tax filing, and W-2 creation
- SAML 2.0 single sign-on, and an Audit Trail now in beta
- 150+ integrations in its Marketplace, and mobile apps on iOS and Android
Rippling
Price: Not verified in this pass. See rippling.com.
This page did not fetch Rippling's own pages in this pass, so it states nothing about what it does or what it costs. Every BambooHR cell above carries a dated quote from a BambooHR page; this entry deliberately carries no claim at all.
Deel
Price: Not verified in this pass. See deel.com.
This page did not fetch Deel's own pages in this pass, so it states nothing about what it does or what it costs. Every BambooHR cell above carries a dated quote from a BambooHR page; this entry deliberately carries no claim at all.
How much does BambooHR cost?
Read from bamboohr.com/pricing on 19 September 2026. Growee's own price lives on the pricing page, where the free tier and the per-employee plan are published in full.
BambooHR packages
Core
$10
per employee/month
Above 25 employees
Pro
$17
per employee/month
Above 25 employees
Elite
$25
per employee/month
Above 25 employees
25 employees or fewer
From $250
flat, per month
Stated in the pricing FAQ, not a package card
What each package gates
| Capability | Core | Pro | Elite |
|---|---|---|---|
| Open job postings | 5 | 25 | 50 |
| Compliance training courses | 1 | 15 | 300+ |
| AI assistant scope | HR Data Questions | Core + Company Policies & Docs | Pro + Benchmark Questions and Analysis |
| Custom review cycles, 360° feedback, 1:1s, goal tracking | Not included | Included | Included |
| Compensation benchmarking and planning, pay visualization | Not included | Not included | Included |
| Custom dashboards, age, gender, satisfaction, wellbeing and growth-rate benchmarks, premium services | Not included | Not included | Included |
BambooHR states that volume discounts are "automatically applied to all accounts based on headcount", offers "an additional 15% off to registered nonprofit organizations", and a 15% discount for bundling Payroll and Benefits Administration, that last one "only available for employees based in the US". Time & Attendance, Payroll, Benefits Administration and Global Employment are quoted separately on top of a package. Every figure here is in US dollars because that is the only currency BambooHR shows on the page; no conversion is applied anywhere on this page.
Where BambooHR is the better buy
Some teams should buy BambooHR and ignore the rest of this page. If HR is the whole job, Elite is a deep product: compensation benchmarking and planning, pay visualization, custom dashboards, and benchmarks across age, gender, satisfaction, wellbeing and growth rate, 300+ compliance training courses, and premium services that include data-integrity hours, new-administrator training and dedicated support (19 September 2026). It also sells US payroll and benefits administration as quoted modules, which Growee has no equivalent of, and ships SAML single sign-on, which Growee does not have at all. An HR-led company that wants a benchmarking partner and a hands-on implementation team is buying something Growee does not try to be.
Source notes
Every BambooHR claim on this page comes from a page BambooHR publishes, fetched on 19 September 2026 with a browser user agent. None of the fetches was blocked, so no archive snapshot was needed and every cell carries the date it was read rather than a snapshot date. BambooHR lists ten product pages under /platform/ in its own llms.txt, and all ten were fetched, so "the pages checked" is its complete published product-page index rather than a sample. Where a cell says a capability is not stated, that is a statement about the pages listed below, not a claim that BambooHR ships nothing: the sweep covered the raw HTML as well as the visible text, and it did not cover BambooHR's help centre, its sales collateral or anything behind a customer login. Two claims carry BambooHR's own publication date as well as ours, because they describe changes it shipped on 14 September 2026. A cell older than 90 days blocks republication of this page, so the next review is due by 18 December 2026.
- bamboohr.com/pricingPrices, packages, the package matrix, the add-on list and the discounts
- bamboohr.com/platform/payrollPayroll, US tax filing, the payroll audit-trail bullet
- bamboohr.com/platform/benefits-administrationBenefits administration and carrier connections
- bamboohr.com/platform/time-and-attendanceTime off, time tracking and shift scheduling
- bamboohr.com/platform/performance-managementReview cycles and 360-degree feedback
- bamboohr.com/platform/hr-data-and-reportingThe employee record and reporting
- bamboohr.com/platform/onboardingDocument templates and e-signatures
- bamboohr.com/platform/applicant-tracking-systemThe separate hiring app
- bamboohr.com/mobileiOS and Android apps
- bamboohr.com/integrationsThe Marketplace, and the link to the SAML listing
- bamboohr.com/integrations/listings/samlThe SAML 2.0 single sign-on wording quoted in the SSO row
- bamboohr.com/platform/complianceLabor-law alerts, and the document-expiry sweep
- bamboohr.com/The security list, including SAML support
- bamboohr.com/product-updates/bamboohr-ai-connectorsAI Connectors, published 14 September 2026
- bamboohr.com/product-updates/audit-trail-agent-attribution-and-ui-updates-betaThe Audit Trail beta, published 14 September 2026
- bamboohr.com/product-updatesThe release-note index, 569 entries with their publication dates
- documentation.bamboohr.com/docs and /llms.txtAPI auth, rate-limit wording, custom fields, holidays and the reference catalog
Growee's own cells are not marketing copy either: each one traces to the product's code and configuration, and every "on the free plan" or "on the paid plan" phrase was checked against the plan booleans that drive the pricing page. Where Growee loses a row, the row says so.
Moving from BambooHR? Bring your people data across.
Export your employee records from BambooHR as a spreadsheet, then bulk-import them into Growee in one upload instead of rebuilding profiles by hand. Each row needs an email, first and last name, contract type, start date and weekly hours; rows already matching an existing email are skipped, so a re-run is safe. On the way back out, leave data exports as CSV or Excel and timesheet reports export as PDF. If you would rather have a hand, book a quick demo and we will walk through the import with you.
BambooHR alternative: frequently asked questions
What is the best BambooHR alternative for a small agency that also needs invoicing?
Growee, if invoicing your own clients is the part BambooHR leaves out. On the BambooHR pages checked on 19 September 2026, the words invoice and invoicing return no hits on its pricing page, its platform pages or its API reference; the only invoice wording anywhere on its site is about paying BambooHR. Growee keeps the HR record and adds timers and weekly timesheets on the free plan, then a billed rate and an internal cost rate per timesheet row, project profit across six billing models, and client invoices with payments, late marking and reminder emails on the paid plan. It is free for up to 3 people and the paid price is published, so there is no quote to wait for. See Growee for agencies and pricing. If you already run time tracking in Harvest and want the HR half instead, the Harvest comparison is the closer read.
Growee vs BambooHR: which suits a 25-person agency?
It turns on payroll. A 25-person company sits exactly on the edge of BambooHR's small-company band, where its pricing page puts you on "a monthly flat rate starting at $250 USD/mo" and the final figure still arrives through a "Get Quote" form (19 September 2026); Time & Attendance, Payroll and Benefits Administration are quoted on top of that. If the 25 people are US employees and you want payroll and benefits run for you, BambooHR is the better buy and Growee is not a substitute. If the 25 people bill clients by the hour, the deciding rows are the ones BambooHR does not describe on any page we checked: rates per timesheet row, project margin and client invoicing. Growee is free to 3 people and per employee above that, published, with no seat minimum.
Does Growee do payroll like BambooHR?
No. Growee has no payroll engine: payroll is a module flag and a permission name in the code, never a calculation and never a payslip, and there is no US tax or compliance surface at all. The only statutory filing integration in the product is Romanian e-Factura. BambooHR does run payroll, and says so plainly: "BambooHR handles federal, state, and local payroll tax filing for your US-based employees", with W-2 creation and direct deposit, sold as an add-on and scoped to US employees (19 September 2026). Growee holds employee cost rates and salary data so it can compute what a project costs you, which is a different job from paying people. Teams that need both usually run payroll where they already run it and use Growee for the HR record, time and the billing side.
Keep the HR record. Add what you bill from.
Keep the HR record, and add the time, rates, margin and invoices an agency bills from. Start free in minutes.
No credit card required · Free for up to 3 people · Cancel anytime
