MCP servers compared

Which HR software has an MCP server?

Seven of the twelve systems below document a shipped MCP server: HiBob, Remote, Deel, Factorial, Rippling, Humaans and Growee. Four more call theirs beta, preview or early access, and one had no MCP documentation on the domains we read on 17 September 2026. The table sets out what each server reaches, whose permissions a call runs under, how a client signs in, and which plan it needs. Growee's row is our live plan gating.

Twelve vendors, from their own docsEvery row dated 17 September 2026Growee's MCP server is on the free plan

The short answer

An MCP server on an HR system is an endpoint that lets an assistant such as Claude or ChatGPT read and act on your HR records over the Model Context Protocol. Eleven of the twelve systems below say they have one. What differs is scope, identity, auth and metering: which areas the server reaches, whose login a call runs under, whether it signs in with OAuth or carries a static token, and which plan pays for it. Seven of the twelve describe a shipped server in their own docs, four call theirs beta, preview or early access, and one had no MCP documentation on the domains we checked on 17 September 2026.

Trusted by teams running lean

  • USS Software Solutions
  • Cyber Threat Defense
  • Deviqon Labs
  • Jobmatix
  • Creative Tim

Twelve HR systems, one MCP question

Each row was read on the vendor's documentation on 17 September 2026. Where a vendor's docs say nothing about a column, the cell says so.

GroweeDocumented

On the free plan

growee.ai/features/mcp-integration
Scope
More than 70 areas: people, leave, timesheets, projects, documents, invoices, CRM
Identity
Runs as your own Growee user, inside your tenant, with your role's permissions
Auth
OAuth sign-in with dynamic client registration, or a static MCP client token
Clients named
Claude, Claude Code, ChatGPT, Codex and any other client that speaks MCP
Plan / metering
1,000 successful MCP tool calls a month free; meter off on paid plans
HiBobDocumented

OAuth update, 30 June 2026; gradual rollout

apidocs.hibob.com/changelog/…-now-uses-oauth
Scope
People, org chart, time and attendance, tasks, performance reviews, goals, reports, compensation, hiring, documents
Identity
Calls run as the signed-in Bob user, scoped to that user's permissions
Auth
OAuth since 30 June 2026; its changelog tells service-user setups to switch
Clients named
Cursor, Claude Code, Claude Desktop and VSCode, on a marketing page that still describes its pre-OAuth setup
Plan / metering
Not stated in its docs
RemoteDocumented

Its docs page dates itself 15 July 2026

developer.remote.com/docs/introduction-to-remote-mcp
Scope
Employment records, contracts, payroll, time off, org structure, timesheets, invoices; some self-service writes
Identity
Every request runs under your own Remote sign-in and role
Auth
OAuth 2.0 authorization code with PKCE, the same browser sign-in as Remote
Clients named
Claude Desktop, claude.ai, Claude Code and Cursor tested; ChatGPT named on its site
Plan / metering
Not stated in its docs
DeelDocumented

Claude connector blog, 28 July 2026

developer.deel.com/mcp/introduction
Scope
Contracts, hiring, people, time off, payments, invoices, payroll, benefits, IT assets, onboarding
Identity
Tools run on behalf of the authenticated user, at organization or worker scope
Auth
OAuth2 recommended; a personal access token for clients without OAuth support
Clients named
Cursor, VS Code, Claude Desktop, ChatGPT named; Claude via the Claude app's Connectors menu
Plan / metering
Not stated in its docs
GustoBeta

Its help centre: early access phase

gusto.com/product/integrations/gusto-mcp
Scope
Company, people, payroll, timesheets, contractor data, plus write actions including running payroll
Identity
A primary or global admin connects; for Claude and Slack, picks the data categories shared
Auth
OAuth 2.0 connection process, per its own help centre
Clients named
Connectors for Claude, ChatGPT and Slack; Gemini and Cursor also named as trusted
Plan / metering
No separate fee to connect; no cap or plan tier stated
FactorialDocumented

Announced live on its changelog

apidoc.factorialhr.com/docs/mcp-server
Scope
Attendance, tasks, time off, employee lookup, plus a bridge to Factorial One
Identity
Runs as the authenticated user, never as an admin or service account
Auth
OAuth 2.0 with dynamic client registration; no API keys
Clients named
Claude web and desktop verified; ChatGPT needs Developer Mode; Gemini and Cursor expected
Plan / metering
Direct tools consume no Factorial One credits today; the Factorial One bridge does
RipplingDocumented

Engineering post, 13 August 2026

developer.rippling.com/…/rippling-mcp/overview
Scope
People and org lookups, time off, draft new hires, custom objects, an ask_ai tool
Identity
Runs as the connected employee's identity, never a service account or static key
Auth
Sign in with your Rippling account; its docs do not name OAuth
Clients named
Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor and Gemini named; Claude Code and Codex in its blog
Plan / metering
Needs an active Rippling AI trial or subscription; no per-call cap stated
WorkdayBeta

Early access, 2 June 2026

newsroom.workday.com/2026-06-02-…
Scope
Hundreds of Agent-Ready Tools across HR and finance; no published HCM tool list
Identity
Agents inherit Workday's security and delegation model; whose login is not stated
Auth
Not stated in its docs for Agent-Ready Tools
Clients named
Not stated in its docs for Agent-Ready Tools
Plan / metering
Early access via Workday Extend Professional; general availability projected second half 2026
BambooHRBeta

AI Connectors shipped 14 September 2026; Claude in beta

bamboohr.com/product-updates/bamboohr-ai-connectors
Scope
An endpoint at your company domain plus /api/mcp, reaching who is out, time-off balances, profiles, hiring progress and benefits info, plus select actions such as updating basic employee info; no published tool list
Identity
Follows the same role-based permissions you already have in BambooHR
Auth
Not confirmed on its public pages; the setup guide sits behind a customer login
Clients named
Claude, in beta; connections to ChatGPT and Gemini described as a future release
Plan / metering
Admins enable it in Settings > Apps and choose who gets it: restricted to admins, to specific access levels, or open to everyone; no call cap stated, and its product-update page is tagged for the Core, Pro and Elite plans
PersonioBeta

Beta article, 12 August 2026

support.personio.de/…/38314656674333
Scope
Read employee profiles, time off, compensation, performance; limited off-by-default time-off writes
Identity
Runs as the signed-in user; never grants more access than you have
Auth
OAuth with a per-connection client ID and the scope mcp:access
Clients named
Anthropic Claude (web, desktop, Cowork, IDE/CLI), Google Antigravity, VS Code with Copilot
Plan / metering
Administrator opt-in, off by default; rate limits apply, no number stated
HumaansDocumented

Early access 30 April 2026; open to all 8 June

humaans.io/mcp
Scope
Look up people, manage time off, act on requests, workflows, generate and sign documents
Identity
Runs under your existing Humaans roles and permissions, the same as the app
Auth
OAuth 2.0 with dynamic client registration; no API keys
Clients named
Claude, Claude Code, ChatGPT on supported plans, Codex and Copilot Studio named; its connector tabs add Antigravity and Cursor
Plan / metering
Included at no extra cost for all customers; unlimited within fair-use limits
CharlieHRNot documented

No MCP documentation found on charliehr.com, 17 September 2026

help.charliehr.com/en/?q=mcp
Scope
Not stated in its docs
Identity
Not stated in its docs
Auth
Not stated in its docs
Clients named
Not stated in its docs
Plan / metering
Not stated in its docs

Vendor rows were read on each vendor's own site between 7 and 17 September 2026, with the pages behind every row listed in this page's source and dated 17 September 2026. "Not documented" means no MCP documentation was found on that vendor's domains on the date given, a statement about the documentation we could read, not a claim that the vendor ships nothing. Two of HiBob's own pages disagree about its server: its developer-docs changelog describes an OAuth, employee-level version from 30 June 2026, while its marketing page still describes the earlier service-user model, so this table follows the changelog; its help-centre setup article remains gated to signed-in customers. Growee's row is our live plan gating from the pricing page and features/mcp-integration.

Four questions to ask a vendor

The four things that actually differ between these servers, in the order they will bite you. Our answers to these questions, with the code behind them, are on the MCP server security page.

1

Which areas does the server expose?

Ask for the tool list, not a category name. A server that reaches time off and employee lookup is a different product from one that reaches payroll, compensation and documents, and a published list is the difference between checking and guessing.

2

Whose identity does a call run under?

Your login, or a service user the whole company shares? The answer decides what the assistant can see, what it can change, and whose name lands in the audit trail when it does. Ask before you connect anything.

3

How does a client authenticate?

An OAuth sign-in ties the session to a person and expires. A static token does not, so ask whether it can be scoped to fewer tools, where it is stored, and how you revoke it when someone leaves.

4

Which plan includes it, and how is usage metered?

Some servers ride along with the subscription. Others need a specific edition, an add-on subscription or an admin opt-in, and a few meter calls or credits. Get the plan name and the counting rule in writing before the pilot turns into a bill.

Where Growee sits

Growee's server reaches more than 70 areas across HR, time, documents, CRM and invoicing. Every call runs as your own Growee user with your role's permissions: reads return what your role can already see, writes run the app's own permission checks, and a static token is limited to the tools on its allowlist. You connect with an OAuth sign-in or that token, from Claude, Claude Code, ChatGPT, Codex or any other client that speaks MCP. It is on the free plan, metered at 1,000 successful MCP tool calls a month, with the meter off on any paid plan. HiBob, Remote, Deel and others ship servers too. See how the MCP server works.

Where another vendor's server is the better fit

If payroll is the thing you want an assistant to reach, another vendor's server is the better fit. Growee has no payroll module, so its server holds no payroll runs. Gusto's server documents payroll data and write actions including running payroll; Deel's covers payroll and invoices; Remote's reads payroll runs, pay schedules and deadlines. Buy the server that sits on the records you actually keep.

Eleven of the twelve systems here say they have an MCP server. Try Growee free

HR software with MCP servers: frequently asked questions

Which HR software has an MCP server?

Read on each vendor's own documentation on 17 September 2026: HiBob, Remote, Deel, Factorial, Rippling and Humaans document a shipped MCP server, and Growee ships one too. Four more describe theirs as unfinished: Gusto calls its server an "early access phase", Workday's Agent-Ready Tools are in early access through Workday Extend Professional, BambooHR's Claude connector is in beta, and Personio's server is in beta. No MCP documentation was found on charliehr.com on that date, which is a statement about the pages we could read rather than about what CharlieHR is building. Status moves fast here, so check the vendor's own page before you buy.

Does BambooHR have an MCP server?

Yes, for one assistant so far. BambooHR shipped AI Connectors on 14 September 2026, and its own product update says the feature "lets you connect BambooHR to supported AI assistants, including Claude, ChatGPT, and Gemini". The connection points at your own company domain plus /api/mcp. The Claude connector is the one live today (BambooHR calls it "currently available in Beta"), while connections to ChatGPT and Gemini "will be available in a future release". An administrator switches it on under Settings > Apps and picks who gets it: restricted to admins, restricted to specific access levels, or open to everyone at the company. BambooHR's own FAQ says the MCP connector "follows the same access model", so a person reaches no more BambooHR data than their permissions already allow. Past that we found no published tool list and no stated auth mechanism for the connector itself as of 17 September 2026: its setup guide sits behind a customer login, so that is a limit on what we could read rather than a gap in what BambooHR has written.

Does Rippling have an MCP server?

Yes. Rippling documents a first-party MCP in its developer docs, and its setup page says the MCP "is enabled by default for every company", though employees cannot connect until an admin assigns them tools in the MCP Gateway. Calls run under the connected employee's own Rippling identity rather than a service account or static API key, checked against both the Gateway policy and that user's normal permissions. Its scope covers people and org lookups, time off, draft new hires and custom objects, plus an ask_ai tool. Tool calls return no data without an active Rippling AI trial or subscription (17 September 2026).

Does Gusto have an MCP server?

Gusto documents an MCP server that brings live Gusto data and write actions into AI tools, with connectors for Claude, ChatGPT and Slack. Its help centre calls this an "early access phase", with advanced features such as running payroll limited to a set of customers, so this page calls it beta. Connecting needs primary or global admin permissions and runs through an OAuth 2.0 flow; for Claude and Slack, that admin can also choose which data categories the assistant reaches. Gusto states there is no separate fee to connect. Its separate Embedded "Dev Assistant" MCP is a developer tool for API docs: it holds no HR records (17 September 2026).

Does Workday have an MCP server?

Workday announced Agent-Ready Tools on 2 June 2026: "controlled guardrails for agents to access HR and finance data over Model Context Protocol (MCP)". Its own release says they are available to early access customers through Workday Extend Professional, with general availability "projected in the second half of 2026". Workday separately documents an Adaptive Planning MCP Server, in preview since 15 August 2026, for its planning module: named query and metadata tools, scoped to the authenticated user's permissions and access rules, connected with OAuth tokens. For core HCM we found no published tool list, no client list and no auth detail on workday.com as of 17 September 2026.

What does Growee's MCP server expose?

One MCP endpoint per workspace, reaching more than 70 areas (people, leave, timesheets, projects, documents, invoices, expenses, leads, campaigns and clients) through discovery tools that list the repositories and operations available to you. Every call runs as your own Growee user inside your tenant: reads return what your role can already see, and writes run the app's own permission checks. You connect with an OAuth sign-in, or with a static MCP client token limited to the tools on its allowlist. It sits on the free plan, metered at 1,000 successful MCP tool calls a month, with the meter off on any paid plan.

Is an MCP server the same as an API or an integration?

No. An API is the vendor's programmatic interface: endpoints and keys your developers build against. An integration is a pre-built sync between two products, set up once and running in the background. An MCP server is the endpoint an assistant calls over the Model Context Protocol, deciding at the moment of the question which tool to use and with which arguments. Many vendors ship all three, and they answer different questions: the API is for software you write, the integration is for data that has to stay in step, and the MCP server is for the assistant sitting next to your work.

Give your assistant your own HR data

Connect Claude, Claude Code, ChatGPT or Codex to your own HR, CRM and invoicing data in a few minutes, free for up to 3 employees, then €2 per person per month. The MCP server is on the free plan, metered at 1,000 successful tool calls a month.

No credit card required · Free up to 3 employees · Cancel anytime